Goodbye Dinner

Yesterday I was honored by my family and friend Tim at a large public dinner. It was a going away party of sorts to see me off because I travel in only 2 days outside of the only hemisphere I have ever called home.

It was fantastic to be surrounded by loved ones who thought so highly of me and cared so much to spend time with me and show me love. It really does help me remember that as I travel and go overseas I still have people back at home that care for me. People that will always have my back. I love each and every one of you so much.

I couldn’t sleep at all tonight. The party just got me so excited I can’t stop thinking about the flight I’ll be taking Monday morning. It really excites me to think about all the new experiences I’ll have and all the new people I’ll meet.

I remember one bit of advice that my father gave me at the Dinner. It was one of the same things he said to me when I went off to College. He said “Have Fun.” I remember thinking at the time he was joking.  Surely he would prefer that I study hard and keep my scholarship! And thats what I did. I studied hard and graduated from College on time with a pretty good GPA but I always look back upon it and wonder, “Did I take full advantage of it?” I always think to myself…I could have interacted at more functions, I could have met more people, I could have done more.  But I vow this time to heed this important piece of advice.

As usual Marty recorded a lot of the footage from the Dinner that I hope I can post up here in the future.

3 Responses to Goodbye Dinner

  1. Jeanell says:

    Awww, sorry I missed it Ryan. Actually? I don’t recall being invited – lol. But major kudos to you!!!

  2. Brenda says:

    Keep in touch

Leave a Reply

